Breathe in the history, digest the heritage.
Throughout the centuries the City has been studded with gems, secrets sometimes hidden but happy to be found again. Beauty and wonder, harsh times made tranquil. Explore today’s Lincoln and get a taste of its traditions.
2000 years has not spoiled this City, rather it has taken pieces from each era and preserved them for us to enjoy today. So much of Britain’s heritage is here.
In times past it was a prehistoric fort, a Roman settlement, captured by the Angles, then the Danes, and was one of the largest cities in the country. William the Conqueror commissioned the magnificent Castle in 1068, the Cathedral in 1072 - today the country’s third largest after St Paul’s and York Minster.
But there’s more: from medieval times through to the present day Lincoln has witnessed great moments in time that helped forge Britain’s destiny, and its past now waits for you to explore. Find the unexpected: see one of only four copies of the Magna Carta, sealed by King John, a regular visitor to Lincoln; go through Newport Arch, the only Roman arch still used by traffic; sneak a peek at the Bishop’s Palace; meander slowly through Uphill's narrow cobbled streets laced with unique shops; then walk down to the city centre passing buildings spanning over 800 years. Browse museums, galleries or just walk the river.
Open-air concerts and theatre at the Castle, magical events in the Cathedral. Lincoln has a strong literary heritage, the County having been home to Tennyson. Fine collections are on show at the Usher Gallery. For more lively entertainment, the bustling Brayford Waterfront at the junction of the Rivers Witham and Till has links back to the Iron Age. Today it is buzzing with places to eat, a 9-screen cinema, modern University buildings, and river cruises which are all 2 minutes from the city centre.
There are also Ghost Guided tours and it is possible to hire boats (Lincoln Boat Hire).
The Pyewipe Inn have a very special river boat housed on our grounds. The Mary Gordon is the oldest electric powered river boat still in existence. She was built in 1898 on the Thames of teak planking on oak frames, by Sergeants, boat builders of Eel Pie Island. In the 1890's these sort of boats were popular, The Mary Gordon was one of the largest, at 70 ft. (11 m.). She could carry 75 adults or 120 children in comfort. It was Leeds City Council who commissioned the boat to be built as they had just acquired Roundhay Park and wanted to use the boat on Waterloo Lake. The Mary Gordon then was sold to a private buyer in 1923 and moved to The River Aire where she stayed until 1943. Her electric motor was removed and a petrol one fitted. In 1943 the Mary Gordon came to Lincoln's Brayford Pool. With this being war time their was a severe amount of paperwork for its journey. After the war the boat now took parties of up to 36 passengers between Gainsborough, Lincoln and Boston. She was fitted with a canopy against the weather and she was again enjoyed as a pleasure boat. One of the Mary Gordon's more colourful owners during this time was William 'Skipper' Ross Hendry. He would take people for trips between Brayford Pool and the Pyewipe Inn or Saxilby. Famously stopping at the Inns on the waterway and staying a little too long sometimes. He may tell his passengers they would be on their way in 20 minutes but would not appear from the bar himself until an hour later. When the landlord at the Pyewipe started charging a penny deposit on glasses and bottles the 'skipper' soon realised how to make a penny or two. The famous cry from his mouth was "All aboard! Ladies and Gentlemen. Bring your glasses and bottles with you!" He collected the deposit money on his return trip.